Change does not happen in a night… or in a week…

So, despite all of the wonderful intentions to change, I am living proof that change does NOT happen overnight… or over 5 nights for that matter! I have been trying to keep track of my achievements (no matter how small) and my pitfalls over the past few day, and I have recorded a few much needed changes to my original goals/sub-goals.

Breaking down daily tasks…

So each day I had an average of 10-15 to-do’s throughout the day… I believe I completed half of these (on a GOOD day). What I realize though, is that maybe some of the things on my to-do list are too “broad” to be a daily task. Instead of saying “Read Section I for class” I should be saying “read chapter one of section I for class”.

New Goal: Make sure that the daily tasks I assign myself are actually attainable

Staying on task…

I get distracted by facebook, social media and the creative side of my brain running off on its own at least 6 times per day or more. This is WAY too often. Since I am aware of this now, I can work to change this by trying to give myself a certain number of times per day to check my social media sites, or let the right side of my brain take over control.

New Goal: allow myself 4 times each day to check social media, or allow myself to do something creative rather than focusing on my task list

Being on time vs. Sleeping…

Despite all of my good intentions to start making it to work on time, I have been staying up until 12:30 – 1:30 each morning finishing up tasks for research and classes. This means that waking up at 7:30 in order to shower, get ready and get out the door by 8:30 (in order to get to work by 9) would mean 6 hours of sleep or less. I am thinking maybe I need to work on being able to get ready faster so my goal for next week is to track what I do from the time I get out of bed to the time i get out the door to see if there is room for improvement in my morning routine. I DO believe I can manage getting to work by 9 am, but this past week I was only successful in doing this half of the time.

New Goal: Track my morning routine and evaluate it for improvement, while continuing to try my best to get to work by 9 am.

I do believe taking the time to do this kind of project is something everyone should do at least once in their lifetime. It really helps you evaluate yourself and you behaviors and why you do the things that you do. We tend to be creatures of habit, operating on autopilot more than half of the day, sometimes more. Projects like this allow us to shift out of autopilot and increase our every day awareness concerning our thoughts, actions and decisions.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. To-do lists are great, but I definitely fall victim to writing down tasks that are just too broad as well. Sounds like you have a crazy schedule with school. good luck with juggling it all 🙂 You got this!

    1. egb91011 says:

      Thanks! I sure hope so! I will be updating soon, so check back!

Leave a Reply

